Why was I overcharged?

When you place an order with Postmates, a temporary authorization hold known as a pre-authorization hold, is placed on your payment card. This amount may be more than your actual order total but will be corrected soon after your delivery is complete.

The pre-authorization hold will reverse within 24-72 business hours and you will then see a new charge post to your account of the final order total shortly after your delivery is complete.

The temporary pre-authorization hold appears on your credit card or bank statement as: POSTMATES TEMP AUTH

The actual charge for the final order total will include the name of the merchant and appears on your credit card or bank statement as: POSTMATES [MERCHANT NAME]

 

Not the pre-authorization?

When you order from a merchant that is not one of our Postmates Plus partners, there may be a discrepancy between the listed prices and the actual merchant prices. In those situations, we will always charge you exactly what the Postmate pays the merchant.

If you think you were mistakenly charged more than the merchant’s list price, please navigate to your Postmates order history page by tapping on the clock icon in the top left hand corner of the app. Then, tap the name of the merchant from which you were overcharged.  On the web, click on your avatar in the top right hand of the site, click “Deliveries” and then select the delivery in question. Choose “Contact Support”, and we’ll get back to you soon!